Apr 12, 2020

My next car.. what should I get?

Matt Gerdeman: OR......135i - Never driven it, never even sat in one.. the 300hp TT seems fun though, and I like the look of it! Don't know much about it though.Also, how is each car, maintenance wise?I think from cheapest to most expensive, it'll be - 240, EVO, G35, 135i, M3.Thoughts?...Show more

Wilbert Shellgren: Are you willing to spend more on maintenance and gas? If you are, then the M3 is hands down probably your best option. E9x M3's are viritually bulletproof. The lack of a turbocharger eliminates quite a lot of problems. If it's an E46 M3, your main problem will be valve adjustments every 60,000 miles or so, but that is a DIY sort of thing, and you can find many videos on Youtube showing you how to do it. The E46 is pretty damn bulletproof, and it has this mechanical feel to the driving that the 135i lacks. With that said, the 135i is still pretty damn good. Its main problem will be the HPFP; it's known to fail. 335i's had a recall that put a 10 year warra! nty on it the HPFP (for certain model years), so you might want to look into 335i's instead if you decide to choose 135i. If you do a lot of travelling that includes rough weather, that Evo is the best way to go. Really nothing more to say.The G35 is a great alternative to the BMW. It's known to have transmission and brake rotor problems, but they are easy fixes (a bit pricey though). The good thing about these problems, is that they won't leave you stranded out in the street; you'd feel it coming. I don't have much experience with rebuilding cars, so I can't say anything about the 240.Good luck with your buy!...Show more

No comments:

Post a Comment